11/26/15 to 2/1/15 – Kyle’s Week: In Review

By: Kyle Grubb

So yeah, these reviews are going to be a bit different than some of my other reviews, considering it’s basically just a blog post. I’m probably going to experiment with different ways of doing these over the next few weeks. Or not. Hard to say. We’ll see.


In Retrospect:

This was a week of, more than anything else, getting into a rhythm. I had technically started this site the week before, but I really started working on it this week. Or, more appropriately, Friday. I’m also in my second week of this current semester at El Camino Community College. I only managed to get into two classes, American Lit and Intro to Philosophy, and so I don’t exactly have what one would call a heavy schedule. Still, I was getting into groove with both classes and seeing what both of my professors would come to expect in the coming months. Neither class seems like it’ll be too tough, and both will probably be fairly enjoyable.

Both classes are super full, though.
Both classes are super full, though.

In Philosophy, my teacher clearly wanted to slowly adjust us to the concept, so she started us off with a fairly light-hearted topic: Is There Evidence to Support the Existence of God. Very light stuff… Now, I’m not going to share my opinions of religion or politics here because, um, why do so? Maybe if it ends up being relevant I’ll bother sharing, but until then it’s probably just better to keep that to myself. As it is I’m already going to be taking an unpopular stance later in this, so that’ll be enough cannon fodder for one post.

The Existence of God. The kind of simple conversation people have over breakfast.
The Existence of God. The kind of simple conversation people have over breakfast.

In Literature we finished talking about Edith Warton’s Ethan Frome. It’s a short book, and thus we were able to get past the whole thing in only two weeks, but there isn’t really much to talk about. It isn’t a bad book by any means, I actually kinda enjoyed it, but I didn’t get some great insight or anything like that. It would be fairly easy to review, too, but I think I’ll pass. The book I just finished reading for next week, though, is Passing by Nella Larsen. It’s an interesting book, to be sure, and another quick read. I might end up reviewing this one. We’ll see how I feel about it by the end of class discussions on it.

At home, things with animals have been front and center. First there’s my cat, Fifty-Fifty.

This little scamp.
This little scamp.

You probably notice his messed up eyes. He was a feral cat that we took in after the death of our dog Buddy. He clearly had been owned by someone previously with how comfortable he was around people. Well, he has an eyelid infection that we’re currently trying to take care of. That wasn’t what he’d been dealing with most of the week, though. Last week one of his anal glands burst. We took him to the vet, where they were able to stitch him up nice and good and fix the blockage that caused the problem in the first place, but he was, of course, stuck with a cone until Sunday night. The poor guy was miserable. He’s certainly happy now though.

The other animal is Samantha, my friend Matt’s dog.

She was determined to shake all of your hands.
She was determined to shake all of your hands.

Matt’s in Scotland for his sister’s wedding until, I think, this upcoming Wednesday, so we’ve been watching Sammy. This dog is seriously in a funk. She’s super sweet and loving, but has clearly been missing Matt all week long. I’ve been trying to take her on walks or give her fun treats to keep her pepped up. That’s kinda left her imprinted on me. Friday, while I was playing video games, she just sat near me and stared right at me for over an hour without moving at all. It was kinda creepy, honestly. I can’t wait for Matt to get back. (For her sake, not mine. Don’t be evil.)

In terms of video games, I spent most of this week playing Resident Evil: REmake REmastered, or whatever they’re calling it. I’d never actually played the original few games, getting into the series at 4 (I know, heresy), and thus was eager to see what all of the fuss was about. Well, I’ve finished Jill’s campaign and am almost all the way through Chris’s, and I gotta say that I’m enjoying myself. I haven’t really been too scared, but the atmosphere is top notch and it holds up well on the whole. I’m probably going to give it a review at some point. I might be moving on to the second game, next, which I own but have never got very far into. I do have a crap ton of other games I need to finish, though, too. I don’t know. Like always, we’ll see.

Lastly of note was the Super Bowl. That was pretty painful. Yeah, I’m a 12. My mom was born and raised in Seattle, and thus the only way to survive in my household was to be a fan. I really do love the Seahawks. I know that they can be brash and loud, but they’re good guys. I’ve met a few of them, and walked away impressed. That last call by Bevelle to throw the ball was obviously the wrong call, but I’m just moving on and looking towards next season. If Marshawn decides to stay, I can see us heading right back to the big show next year. In terms of commercials, Nationwide taught me that children could die at any moment. Thanks for that. Overall, it was a pretty weak year. Liam Neeson and Bryan Cranston both headlined two great spots, though. Katy Perry’s halftime show was fine. Far from the worst I’ve seen, but it didn’t hold a candle to Bruno Mars’s performance last year. Missy Elliot’s surprise appearance was entertaining, though, if only for the shock value.

This is going to hurt for a while.
This is going to hurt for a while.

In Relection:

I’m proud of myself for really stepping up when it came to this site. It took me most of the week, but I think I’ve really found my rhythm. My style is starting to come into my reviews too, and everything’s getting quicker. That said, I did drop the ball for most of the week.

I couldn't have said it better myself, Chuck.
I couldn’t have said it better myself, Chuck.

I’m also doing pretty well in school. Not like that’s hard, but I don’t always have the best track record. You wouldn’t know, but I used to be a pretty awful student. I was always smart enough to grasp the material, but never bothered putting in the effort and doing any of the work. I ended up going to two semesters of community college before I realized I was wasting time and money, dropped out, and started working. Now that I feel I’m a bit more mature, I feel so much more prepared for my schooling. If I could only get into more classes. Seriously, El Camino is so full of people fighting for any class they can find.

My health is the one place where I’ve really dropped the ball. Not like I haven’t been dropping the ball consistently for most of my life, but still. I’m well and truly overweight, and need to get myself into shape. No clue how to start, really, and not sure how to get the motivation to do so. My friend Andrew got me some Multivitamins from his mom, which was awesome of him, and I’ve been taking Sammy out on walks, but I haven’t really actively done anything for myself. I’m still sitting in front of a TV or computer most of the time, and I still eat shitty food in large quantities. I’ll figure out a way to fix this, but it won’t be easy. I really want to be healthy.

Maybe I should head over to Globo Gym
Maybe I should head over to Globo Gym

If I want to get better, I have to put in the effort like I have been in other parts of my life. Still, I can’t beat myself up too much. I got some good work done this week.

Final Review: 7/10

And yes, I really did just review myself for the week. I’m probably going to keep doing that.

Leave a Reply

