2/9/15 to 2/15/15 – Kyle’s Week: In Review

By: Kyle Grubb

In Retrospect:

This week was pretty lazy, all things considered. These weeks are going to be the hard ones to write about. Earlier on in the week I was mostly doing some introspection and figuring out how to fix the shit my mother brought up last week. Didn’t really come up with any big plan, but I did take some steps. School was fairly tame. Philosophy was whatever, and in Literature we’re going over Sister Carrie. I’m not the biggest fan, but I’ve read way worse. We finish talking about it next week, so I probably won’t have much to say about it next week either.

In terms of getting into shape, I found this app called Couch to 5K. It takes me from being the couch potato I am to being able to run 5 kilometers in 9 weeks. I’d heard really great things, and figured that it was worth a shot. I technically started that today, but I’ll be talking about it and seeing how I’m doing in next week’s review.

If I put this here, do I get sponsor money?
If I put this here, do I get sponsor money?

I also started looking for a job. I don’t want to work at a restaurant again, so I guess I’m looking around for retail places. Working somewhere like GameStop would be pretty cool, but I doubt I’ll be that lucky.

Over the weekend, my friend Danny was staying at his parents’ house. He’s over at UCLA in Grad School, but visited because of the long weekend. He and I, along with our friend Andrew, went to go see Kingsman on Friday. If you’ve read my Kingsman review, you’d know that I loved the hell out of it. I was then informed with little notice that I was going to be babysitting that night. Lily and Aria are the daughters of friends of parents, and both couples were going to hang out for the night and go see 50 Shades of Gray (the idiots). The girls were fairly well-behaved, though they did cause a bit of trouble. I was stuck watching them until about midnight, but they just wouldn’t go to bed.

For the first time in my life, this book was relevant.
For the first time in my life, this book was relevant.

Lastly, on Sunday, was Game Day. Every other week (in theory) I host a day at my house where people come over and play Board Games. It’s a really fun thing that was started up partway through last year. The last few weeks have been pretty busy, and thus it kept getting put off. Also, sadly, attendance has been lacking recently. It hasn’t helped that most of the regulars have now gone off into the world. It’s supposed to start after noon, but didn’t really start up until about 3:00, when my friend Becky showed up with her boyfriend in tow. I hadn’t gotten the chance to meet Larry yet, so it was a good opportunity. Apparently he never really played Board Games before, and so this was a fun chance. We ended up playing a round of Munchkin, which was actually really anti-climactic. I just ended up essentially walking my way into a victory with almost no opposition. We started up another game right around when Andrew showed up, and this was closer to a classic Munchkin match. Lasted a few hours, and I squeaked my way into another win (possibly through minor cheating…). Becky and Larry had to run after that, and so Andrew and I hung out for a bit. Than Matt and Taylor showed up around 7ish, and we played Settlers of Catan. Taylor had never played before, and it seemed like she ended up having quite a lot of fun. Andrew basically dominated the game from the beginning. Karma caught up to me, because I did completely awful. It was still fun though.

At first I was jealous of this collection, but then I just hated this person. Look how many copes of Monopoly there are!
At first I was jealous of this collection, but then I just hated this person. Look how many copes of Monopoly there are!

In the video game front, I managed to get through Resident Evil CODE: Veronica X HD. Of course, you already know that if you checked the front page. I also re-finished Resident Evil 4 on Sunday morning. I’m working on the review for that now, and it should be up at some point very soon. Next is Revelations, since I’m trying to go chronologically. Never played this one. I like it so far, but I haven’t had the chance to really dive too far into it yet. I also picked up Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate on Friday, but haven’t had the time to dive into it very much. I had played earlier games in the series, but really jumped in fully with 3 Ultimate. Matt and I played it together, and are planning on doing the same with 4. We’ll see how that goes.


In Review:

This is an odd week to review myself for, because, while I did things, it was mostly just going through motions. I applied myself in school, but didn’t really put in any extra effort. I figured out an exercise plan, but didn’t start it yet. I hung out with friends, but didn’t do anything too out of the ordinary or exciting. How do you review a week like this?

I turned to Google for help, but all it gave me was this blurry, crappy graph.
I turned to Google for help, but all it gave me was this blurry, crappy graph.

I hate how short this review has been, but there really isn’t much to say. Since the week was so boring, is that a bad thing? Or just a middle-of-the-road thing?

Final Score: 5/10

For now, it’s a middle-of-the-road thing. Too many of these weeks, though, and it’ll start counting against me. That sounds about right.

Shut up, Picard!
Shut up, Picard!
Leave a Reply

