2/16/15 to 2/22/15 – Kyle’s Week: In Review

By: Kyle Grubb

And here we are again. God, these weeks are just flying by.


In Retrospect:

My week was mostly split up into three different focuses. The first of which, as expected, was school. I’m just getting this out of the way because it was the least interesting. Philosophy consisted of discussions of the existence of an afterlife, and then taking a quiz about the material. I felt pretty confident that I aced the quiz. Literature was just more discussion about Sister Carrie. I still have to deal with it for one more week, but I’m almost through it. It’s pretty hard to enjoy a book where you have to struggle to find a character to sympathize with.

It's like a bunch of Joffreys. Okay, maybe not that bad.
It’s like a bunch of Joffreys. Okay, maybe not that bad.

The second tent-pole topic is my mother’s company, Surf City Theatre Company. We presented a play over the weekend, Late Nite Catechism: Til Death Do Us Part, and that kept my Saturday and Sunday pretty busy. It’s a show we host, as opposed to casting and preparing it, so it’s much easier than a normal show. That being said, it still is time consuming to get everything we need ready and transported to the theater. Not to mention that I hurt all four limbs in one way or another just because we were trying to rush through the process. I then had to sit around for the show backstage, doing nothing, just in case I was needed. On Sunday I was almost entirely superfluous. I really need to focus on getting a driver’s license so that doesn’t happen anymore.

The big deal this week was definitely Couch to 5K, though. As I’ve mentioned before, its a fitness program that’s supposed to get me into well enough shape that I can run a 5K race in 9 weeks. You have no idea how crazy the idea of me running a 5K really is. Just trust me though, it’s crazy. Since it involves me running for only 3 days a week, I’m doing it Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings. It works pretty well, because those are the days I don’t have school. For the first week, it consists of briskly walking for 5 minutes, alternating between jogging for 1 minute and walking for 1 and 1/2 minutes for a total of 20 minutes, and then finishing with another 5 minute walk. That probably sounds like a joke for any of you that are in shape, but for me that was pretty damn tiring. I’m ashamed too, don’t worry. Still, I found that by Friday I could pull it off without too much strain. I’m really proud of myself for finally doing something about my health, even if this is only one of many steps I need to take. I started the program at 287 pounds, far above what is recommended for my frame and height. I’m excited to see where I’ll be in another 8 weeks. I’m not going to quit this program, no matter how hard it gets. I’ve quit enough things in my life by now.

With that said, though... guuuuuuaaaaaaaaaahhhhhh!!!
With that said, though… guuuuuuaaaaaaaaaahhhhhh!!!

In addition, on a lighter note, I’ve been spending a fair amount of time recently hanging out with some friends. Matt, his girlfriend Taylor, our friend Susan, and I played some board games at my house on Tuesday, Thursday, and Sunday. I haven’t spent much time with Susan in years, and its been really great getting to know Taylor better. All in all, bet’s been a lot of fun. Not much more to add there.

Also, you may have noticed that there were only two reviews put up last week. I’ll get to that more down below.

You knew it was coming. Did you really think I could be that positive about myself?
You knew it was coming. Did you really think I could be that positive about myself?

In Review:

I’m actually pretty proud of myself for this last week. I did well in my classes (not that it’s very hard…), I started my long trek toward healthiness for the first time in my life, and I was there to help out my mother when she needed me. I also spent more time socializing with other people than I have in weeks. I stepped up in most areas of my life, or at least kept moving forward with a solid trajectory.

This website is the exception to that.

I'm not going to lie: being yelled at by Gary Oldman makes this a bit easier to digest.
I’m not going to lie: being yelled at by Gary Oldman makes this a bit easier to digest.

I know that I don’t really have a consistent reader-base yet (if I ever will), but I still feel like I really dropped the ball here. Each consecutive week I’ve been uploading less and less content, and somehow I had only managed to get out two articles, both video game reviews, between my last Week: In Review and this one. That’s definitely below my expectations of myself. Keeping myself busier definitely had quite a lot to do with this, but I’m not really looking for excuses. I started this site with the expectation of being able to supply a steady amount of content for it, and as of late I haven’t succeeded in doing so. I have more than enough time in a week to pound out more than 2 reviews. They rarely take me longer than an hour to do, and with so little actually on my schedule, I can’t afford myself a break in this.

There are also just basic problems with the content itself: to start, it’s kinda boring. Especially with these recent Resident Evil reviews, I’ve just found myself a cookie cutter formula and stuck to it. It isn’t exciting, and trades an excess of information for any actual depth or quality. Moving forward I intend to put more work into my reviews, and also to make them a higher priority. Also more variety. I’ve been focusing far too much on video games, desperately trying to get through the series before the first episode of Revelations 2 drops (Which I completely failed to do, by the way. It comes out this Tuesday. Ugh). I’ve written 2 Board Game reviews, 2 Movie reviews, 2 Book reviews, 1 TV review, 1 Music review, and 7 Video Game reviews. Not exactly balanced. I can announce that I’m going to start working on a new series of reviews, though, corresponding to another upcoming release. This one’s a bit more doable, though: I’m planning on reviewing all of the Marvel Cinematic Universe movies, in order, leading up to the May 1st release of The Avengers: Age of Ultron. I’ve given myself much more time, and movies are a lot easier to pound through than video games. Hell, I could watch all of those movies again before getting though the first two Resident Evil games. Probably. Or something like that.

It's not like there's THAT many of them... man, I clearly hate myself.
It’s not like there’s THAT many of them… man, I clearly hate myself.

Either way, I digress: better content, more variety of content, and just more content in general. That’s my promise. I sound like I’m beating myself up, but its really just because I’m focusing on the my one oversight. In general, I’m glad for much of what I did this week. There’s a fair amount to be proud of.

Also, getting some other people adding content to this site would probably help with the drought. I’m talking to people. Fingers crossed.

smiley-crossing-fingers

Final Score: 8/10

Leave a Reply

