The First Month

By: Kyle Grubb

I can’t believe it’s already been almost a whole month since my first review. When I was pounding out my review for Suikoden II, I had no idea if I would actually be sticking with this or if it was just a quick little idea that would lose my interest just as quickly as it came to be. To be fair, that still is a possibility. I just don’t think it’s very likely anymore. I’m having too much fun.

Now, I still am just as clueless towards what I’m doing than I was a month ago. I’m still figuring out my voice, still trying to find the style that I’ll be sticking with. I also need to work on my variety. Much of this was touched on in my most recent Week: In Review, though, so I think I’ll just skip past that.

I’d never written a review in my life before that Suikoden II. At least, never one that I wasn’t forced to write for school or some such thing. I’d been reading reviews all my life, sure, but reading something and doing something are two very different things. It’s been fun, though.

This site has already had an effect on my life, no matter how small. If not for this site, it was very possible I wouldn’t have picked up Resident Evil HD Remaster. Even if I did, though, I’m certain I wouldn’t have probably played through the rest of the series too. Because of my desire to do something interesting for this site, I played through a series of games that I had missed out on. That’s awesome, in its own way.

I still don’t know what the future holds for this site. I’m still the only person posting here, and I might end up being the only regular content creator this site gets. That being said, I’m proud of what I’ve done. I started a website, for goodness sake. I’ve taught myself how to write reviews, quality not-withstanding. I’m stretching my wings.

As I mentioned in the last Week: In Review, my next big project after finishing up Resident Evil is tackling the Marvel Cinematic Universe. I plan on reviewing every single movie leading up to the release of Avengers: Age of Ultron, and I’m excited to be doing that. There are a good number of those movies I haven’t seen in quite some time, and the rest I’m pretty eager to see again anyway.

I also finally linked the site to my Facebook account, so now all of my family and acquaintances can stumble through my content. That’s a bit horrifying, but also freeing. It’s a website, after all. You just are supposed to throw it out into the universe and see who finds it. Maybe I’m not doing anything too special here, but I am having fun. That’s the big thing, in my mind. If some people stumble across my content and find it interesting, that’s all just icing on the cake.

Thank you to everyone that’s read any of my posts. I’m excited to see where I go next.

– Kyle

It’s weird not giving a score at the end of these.

Um…

Final Score: 17/9

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Thanks for posting – who knew?

    Like

Leave a Reply

